starting-over

Sometime last week I was sitting in my car in the parking lot of the Foods Co, grocery store when an elderly woman came up to my window and tapped on it. I thought, oh no, she’s going to ask me for money, but she didn’t. She asked if I was crying and said she was worried about me. I hadn’t been, though I had been feeling down. I told her I was fine. I was just listening to the radio (a story on NPR).

It had been raining that day, but not as fiercely as the weekend before. She asked me then, “You still have a ways to go yet, don’t you?” That was exactly how I was feeling. I got the job, but I was still struggling and feeling down. I was starting to wonder if I’d ever be able to feel safe and happy again. “I’m still going to work tonight”, I told her. “Be careful”, she said. “I will,” I answered. ” You’re sweet. Thank you,” I also said.

I resolved to leave a little early for work, just to be on the safe side.  I think her message to me meant more than just be careful driving on the wet roads though. Somehow she let me know that I was headed in the right directed, even though I’d still be on this journey for a little while longer.

 

